Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Gear Lust / Lost & Found

Rave About Your Rack Please do not post retail SPAM.

Page 1 of 2. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 31
Author
Hex's Vs Cams Vs Stoppers
jcrunk
4-Nov-2011
12:18:34 PM
Hey guys I'm fairly new to lead climbing but want to get some trad gear to give it a bit of a crack but am not sure what to start with...

What should I get first??
I've heard that I should learn how to place HEx's first then buy Cam's but also been told to buy Cam's because they are better...I climb mostly at Nowra NSW, Mt Keira (Wollongong) NSW & hopefully!! the Blue Mountains... which is sandstone

Any opinions or reccomendations will be appreciated.

BlankSlab
4-Nov-2011
12:31:46 PM
I can't really offer advice on what is best but take a look at the Wild Country Time To CLimb Promotion on at the moment.
You can get yourself a set of rockcentrics and the Classic wire set under $100 each to start off your rack. They also have some really good deals on cams. %40 off some of them.

Ill leave it up to the other guys as to what you should be starting with

Sabu
4-Nov-2011
12:56:56 PM
Its probably best to start with a set of nuts. What brand is really down to personal preference, I like Wild Country Rocks. You'll eventually want a full set plus doubles of at least the key sizes.

People often recommend hexes first as a beginner because they are cheaper (you could buy close to a set of hexes for the same price as a single cam). They are also cheaper to leave behind if you get them stuck or have to bail.

With cams, again brand is personal preference, and its better to start with the smaller sizes and work up rather than down.

Might be worth finding out from climbers who have been to your local areas as to what gear is most useful (I'm sure some here will be able to recommend).

benjenga
4-Nov-2011
5:42:46 PM