Goto Chockstone Home

  Guide
  Gallery
  Tech Tips
  Articles
  Reviews
  Dictionary
  Links
  Forum
  Search
  About

      Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

  Shop
    Climbing Gear FREIGHT FREE within Australia!

DMM: DMM ALLOY "Offset" have arrived!!! #Sizes 7 - 11. (5 piece) Range: 12 to 23.5mm. (Great Compliment to DMM Wallnuts. (Refer Peenuts for Profile) Awesome Pro!  $93.00
15% Off





Climbing Media Reviewed
[ Books | Movies | Screen Shots | Best Stuff | Aussie Titles | Latest Reviews | Reviewed Only | All ]

Real Thing, The
(Doco) Bouldering with Ben Moon and Jerry Moffatt in England and Fontainebleau

Format Video Category Non-Fiction
Title Real Thing, The  Mins  
Starring Ben Moon, Jerry Moffatt, Mark Le Menestral  RRP  
Director   Reviews 11 
Edition   Ave Rating **** (4.00 of 5)

Reviews  

User Comments
Anonymous
31/08/2004
*****
The best boulder video ever. Believe me. 
KP
10/04/2005
****
nothing special.. 
Anonymous
4/05/2005
*****
I LOVE IT.
I agree it's the best video ever 
Anonymous
15/01/2006
*****
Hi guys!
From where can I download the real thing, huh? 
Nottobetaken
17/02/2006
*****
The Real Thing is essentially a film about bouldering - but it's not your average American 'tear it off the wall to the latest grunge music' flick. Instead, it's a film that encompasses humour, slick & stylish editing, hip dance music and the odd desperate problem. In line with the opening narrative "Our story starts..." the film attempts to align itself to the structure of a good tale - in this case that of two climbers travelling to the famous bouldering area of Fontainebleau to do battle with some of its best problems. The climbing itself is interspersed with personal insights from the climbers themselves - attempting to explain their love of bouldering - as well as depicting some humourous rest day activities. The camera work is outstanding, not surprising given that it was done by the BBC's Simon Tucker.

The climax of the film is Ben Moon's objective - the legendary Karma (V11) problem, put up by Fred Nicole. Harder problems get repeated (such as the desperate Surplomb De La Vallee De Mee (8a+/V12) and Ben's Extension (8a+/V12), but as the film might suggest - the grade isn't everything. Indeed, some of the best looking problems aren't the hardest (witness 'Ben's Dyno) - actually called 'The Buckstone Dyno' (V8), as well as the super classic 'Crescent Arete' (V2).

Fun and games reign supreme in these climbers vocabluary, with Moon attempting to see 'How fast you can drive in a built up urban area' and Moffatt attempting to do the same by reaching Stanage from Sheffield in his Lancia Evolution. The determination of Moffatt to climb 'rain, hail or snow' adds to the hilarity - climbing 'Biceps Mou' (V8+) in sub-zero temperatures in the snow (after having cleaned all the holds with a broom).

The training scenes on wood show just why these guys were the top of their game for much of the 80's/90's - with Moffatt performing a one-arm campus board move and Moon dynoing 1-5-9.

All good fun - and that's what it's all about. 
Anonymous
12/09/2006
*****
The real thing is the best bouldering vid ever made, the one that basically started it all, the godfarther of bouldering vids. And like everything else, nothing since has ever come close. If this were a Hollywood movie, it would have won Academy Awards. An instant classic. If you are a bouderer, this has to be in your library.

Maxime 
Pk
11/11/2006
***
Please somebody knows the name of the music of the start of the film?
Thanks 
juanvicho
4/12/2007
***
This old film is the best climb film 
Anonymous
17/07/2008
*****
The music tiltles flash up before each clip (press pause): Atlantic ocean, waterfall: Bomb the bass, bug dustin'' powder: schoenenburge, marmion (party in Paris) etc. Nice motors too.
 
Anonymous
5/09/2008
***
For me the best of the best !!


Someone can write the full soundtrack track list? 
svink
15/12/2009
*****
this video is awesome ! that''s the best. I agree

main soundtracks --->
marmion - schoneberg (original mix)
atlantic ocean - waterfall
octopus (original mix) - art of trance

 


Further Reading:
Rock Hardware - Purchasing of climbing books, movies, etc.

 

Home | Guide | Gallery | Tech Tips | Articles | Reviews | Dictionary | Forum | Links | About | Search
Chockstone Photography | Landscape Photography Australia | Australian Landscape Photography

Please read the full disclaimer before using any information contained on these pages.
All text, images and video on this site are copyright. Unauthorised use is strictly prohibited.