Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Gear Lust / Lost & Found

Rave About Your Rack Please do not post retail SPAM.

Author
TimP's 17 Down Under Review

ajfclark
5-May-2015
9:21:03 AM
On 5/05/2015 TimP wrote:
>When I first got a copy of 17 Down Under my thirteen year old son flipped through it and was chuffed to see a bunch of climbs he’s done. He can’t do that with a climbing magazine.
>
>Disclaimer- this is not an impartial review. I've been buying climbing gear from Rock Hardware for a couple of years now and have got to know and like Steve and John. I've been following this project with interest; just the concept sounded great when I first heard about it chatting in their relaxed store in Bendigo — Rock Hardware. So this is a personalised response to the book, as are the stories of each climb in it. When I think how climbs imprint in my memory it is the atmosphere around it: people, place, a bit of history, my state of mind - this is the tone of 17 Down Under and the stories are of climbs I've done.
>
>I was very pleased to see 17 Down Under make it to print; it was not an easy road but John and Steve persisted and this book is the payoff for all their hard work. They got through the long process to create something many climbers new and old will enjoy.
>
>This book is truly a celebration of moderate grade climbing: which is the sub-title. How rare is that? Climbing media is full of elite climbers, as if anyone climbing below grade 20 doesn’t exist. Yet I'm sure the audience who can climb over grade 30 is not big enough to sustain a climbing magazine or website. Sure we all admire, even aspire to this level of climbing but I believe it’s the relative challenge that is the satisfaction in climbing - getting a few moves on a climb above your grade is a great feeling. Thankfully for all of us there will always be climbs to challenge us.
>