Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Gear Lust / Lost & Found

Rave About Your Rack Please do not post retail SPAM.

Author
Belay Glasses
Lola
24-May-2014
9:37:41 PM
Hi, does anyone have an idea of the brands of belay glasses? Actually, I've searched on web but I found out that CU belay glasses is too expensive for me. I'm a student, and I need practical advice.
Thank you!
Lola
24-May-2014
10:14:19 PM
No one replies to me? Come on please

Miguel75
24-May-2014
11:08:30 PM
A quick search (button on the left hand side) of Chocky should bring up a few post about belay glasses, and Simey's package.
daave
25-May-2014
7:34:27 AM
Send a private message to One Day Hero. Whilst a student, he too suffered from strains to his neck and bank accounts. He developed his own Belay Glasses, with optional cruising mode, for less than 20 bucks. I'm sure he'd be more than happy to make you and your friends some glasses.

JamesMc
25-May-2014
8:18:58 AM
Lola,
Do you really NEED belay glasses? 99% of us get along just fine without them.

JamesMc
martym
25-May-2014
9:53:58 AM
On 25/05/2014 JamesMc wrote:
>Lola,
> Do you really NEED belay glasses? 99% of us get along just fine
>without them.
>
>JamesMc

I think what he means is, the only people who use them are wealthy Middle Aged climbers who can afford tons of gear they don't really need.

If you are really bothered by neck strain, try belaying side on and swapping from time to time. Try leaning your whole body rather than just your neck, and don't feel bad about not staring at your leader's butt for the whole climb.... It's ok to give your neck a rest every now and then.
Save your $100 for textbooks and Tony's new uni fees!

Miguel75
25-May-2014
11:25:56 AM
Given the recent interest in belay glasses I reckon One Day Hero may be holding the golden goose;