Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Gear Lust / Lost & Found

Rave About Your Rack Please do not post retail SPAM.

Page 2 of 2. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 23
Author
Bowlines - who uses what?

IronCheff
1-May-2013
12:25:02 PM
Clearly a Bowline or Figure 8 tied correctly are effective. Whats the difference if they are not tied correctly. From what I have seen a stuffed up fig 8 usually ends up as an Overhand knot which is still quite an effective knot. I have no experience with Bowlines are they usually stuffed up the same way.

IdratherbeclimbingM9
1-May-2013
12:54:18 PM
On 1/05/2013 IronCheff wrote:
>Clearly a Bowline or Figure 8 tied correctly are effective. Whats the
>difference if they are not tied correctly.

You will die, as irish Eddy O'slabofvic noted!
Heh, heh, heh.

>From what I have seen a stuffed
>up fig 8 usually ends up as an Overhand knot which is still quite an effective
>knot. I have no experience with Bowlines are they usually stuffed up the
>same way.

If you mean by human error then yes, but they are different knots and by default it would be hard to stuff them up the same way regarding incorrect rethreading etc.
Both of those knots are a lot more secure, even in their stuffed up versions(!), by having keeper knots tied in their tails, as most things I have read about 'failures' of these knots are associated with the lack of a keeper knot.

In today safety conscious world I find it interesting that fear of knot failure seems a heightened issue...
When I started in the game, the lead rope wrapped around the waist and tied with a bowline was standard practice, and back then knot failure was regarded as a lesser evil than- *

(*insert your own imaginative fear here!)
;-)

Macciza
1-May-2013
5:48:40 PM
Hmm, I'll bight . . ;~}