Tells Us About Your Latest Trip!

Author
A day at "The Glen"

Breezy
17-Nov-2004
12:22:02 PM
Trip Report

A day at “The Glen”

This is the first time I have attempted to write a trip report, so bare with me and don’t be too harsh and my punctuation is bad I know :)

Plans where set and goals where made, I had decided to “head back” to Centennial Glen, a place I had not visited since my return to climbing after a 3-4 year lay off. Having been injured, had a daughter (well my partner did), and just a bit of burn out in general, I had been climbing again for around 5 months.

Plan: Get there early, before “hard man harry” and all is cohorts arrived.

Goal: A flash of Pad’ngton (25).

Well as usual the plan was out of whack 10min after my climbing partner arrived at my house, we where not going to be early. A few (read: too many) coffee’s and we where off to the Glen.

After pulling into the carpark and seeing more than 10 cars, howling winds and 4 bushwalkers, my heart sunk, I like the Glen for its unique nature, however had never liked the Nowra “feel” of the place, ie; if your not climbing 27+ ….. “get outta my way”.

I was persuaded to stick to the plan, despite my feelings. After arriving at the main wall and actually being greeted in one way or another by everyone we passed, I started thinking maybe the Glen has changed. Maybe “nice” people do sport climb :P

After completing a few warm ups which I had done many years before, the time had come.

Up went my partner to place the draws for me on Pad’ngton. An onsight was outta the question as I had previously watched many people complete this route and seen various photos of it. So why not send someone up to place the draws and clean the holds.

Holds where cleaned, draws placed, all that remained was me to climb it.