Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Crag & Route Beta

Crag & Route Beta

Page 2 of 3. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 40 | 41 to 44
Area Location Sub Location Crag Links
VIC Arapiles (General) (General) (General) [ Arapiles Guide | Arapiles Images ] 

Author
Arapiles newbe

phillipivan
29-Apr-2016
10:48:26 PM
If bad multi pitch routes are you thing I think you may be better off going to the Chimney Potts in the Grampians.
Wendy
30-Apr-2016
9:27:05 AM
I'm with the crowds saying Bard is not that great. If you want an amazing, easy introduction to Araps, go for Arachnus.
PeterW
1-May-2016
12:26:24 AM
It's funny. I've been climbing at Araps for 44 years, and heaps of people have sung the virtues of Arachnus for all of that time. Every so often I go back and do it again thinking maybe it will get better this time, but to be honest I don't think I've ever enjoyed it. I've always found it scary for the grade (even when I was leading low 20's), and I always have trouble finding the route in the middle bits. (Sure, you can climb almost anywhere there, but the grade can increase and the pro decrease surprisingly quickly if you wander off route.)

Conversely, I'm genuinely surprised about the lack of love for Bard. Yes, it wanders a bit by modern standards, but apart from the third pitch I think the second pitch traverse is also a classic. It's dead easy, unless you're tall, or unless you let your head get the better of you. :-) To be honest, for my money Bard epitomises the whole concept of "trad" climbing!
patto
1-May-2016
1:01:49 AM
Each to the own I suppose. Though I agree with PeterW, Arachnus has never inspired me... Whereas pretty much everything else left or right of it is amazing.

I really enjoyed Spiral Staircase the other month. Hadn't done it in a decade. But I suppose that is more about the location, the view, the weather and the company rather than top class climbing.
Wendy