Page 3 of 5. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 40 | 41 to 60 | 61 to 80 | 81 to 82
Area Location Sub Location Crag Links
VIC Grampians (General) (General) (General) [ Grampians Guide | Images ] 

Author
Grampians Fires 2014 - More roads open
jdb
24-Jan-2014
1:43:18 PM
Keiran, do you think the bolts will need replacing on the Wall of Fools?
kieranl
24-Jan-2014
1:58:09 PM
On 24/01/2014 jdb wrote:
>Keiran, do you think the bolts will need replacing on the Wall of Fools?
I'd be surprised. I'm not aware of that being necessary at other cliffs after fires, except where the bolts were rubbish to start with. That said, I'm no engineer.

Snacks
24-Jan-2014
4:03:00 PM
On 24/01/2014 kieranl wrote:
>On 24/01/2014 jdb wrote:
>>Keiran, do you think the bolts will need replacing on the Wall of Fools?
>I'd be surprised. I'm not aware of that being necessary at other cliffs
>after fires, except where the bolts were rubbish to start with. That said,
>I'm no engineer.

The bolts probably won't need replacing in the short-term, but they are certainly more likely to require replacing a bit earlier...

Durability of bolts, fastening method and the rock itself can all be variably affected by the peak temperatures of a bush fire.

JamesMc
24-Jan-2014
4:56:13 PM
It would be worth someone consulting their glue manufacturer, though the answer would probably be CYA.

nmonteith
24-Jan-2014
6:39:46 PM
I've seen a look of fires over the years and not once have I seen problems with bolts.
Wendy
25-Jan-2014
5:28:48 PM
http://m.earthobservatory.nasa.gov/NaturalHazards/view.php?id=82934

kieranl
25-Jan-2014
7:45:31 PM
Wow. Even though I've seen the map of the fire area, this just brings the thing home.