General Climbing Discussion

Page 1 of 2. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 21
Author
Drone photography
Swiitch drone photo
7-Aug-2017
8:09:01 PM
Hi guys

I'm a keen drone photographer. I'm looking to shoot some serious rock climbing action

It's for personal use and I can provide and footage to you

I live in Victoria and I'm happy to fit in with your schedule

If anyone is interested let me know do we can tee up a time

The footage will be edited and added to my website

Thanks
Ben rancie

kieranl
7-Aug-2017
8:40:51 PM
Do you have permits to operate inside State/National Parks?
gfdonc
8-Aug-2017
9:18:59 AM
For non-commercial use he does not require a permit for filming 'above' parks. CASA regulates airspace.
Only need a permit for takeoffs and landings within the parks.
jacksonclimbs
10-Aug-2017
2:18:59 AM
TBH You may find the climbing community is fairly anti-drone.

I'm in the, don't use the drone unless you have everyone at the crag's permission.

At a place like the grampians, that can be very hard, as other crags are often within earshot.

Many climbers complain about the noise generated by drones.

Your offer is obviously friendly and well meaning, and I'm sure you might find someone to take you up on your offer, just something to keep in mind.

D.Lodge
12-Aug-2017
12:41:08 PM
Currently it is illegal to fly a drone over National and State parks, not sure how to get a permit to do so either.
gfdonc
12-Aug-2017
1:49:45 PM
On 12/08/2017 D.Lodge wrote:
>Currently it is illegal to fly a drone over National and State parks, not
>sure how to get a permit to do so either.

Parks Vic site has details about permits. Quite impractical for hobbyist pilots however.
http://parkweb.vic.gov.au/park-management/applications,-licences-and-permits/filming-and-photography

And so we're clear, D. Lodge's statement is incorrect. The Parks adminstration(s) do not control airspace. Any more than I can stop helicopters flying over my property. (wish)

robin2
13-Aug-2017
7:54:30 PM