Sponsored By
      ROCK
   HARDWARE

Shop
Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Gear Lust / Lost & Found

Rave About Your Rack Please do not post retail SPAM.

Author
Cutting rubber off dogbones
ericx
1-Apr-2014
2:02:15 PM
Does anyone cut the rubber from their quickdraws to add more freedom of movement to the bottom carabiner? Not an issue for clipping sport bolts, but the added movement in the dogbone could help prevent wires from wriggling loose. Perhaps a more important consideration than maintaining the bottom gate downwards.

shortman
1-Apr-2014
2:26:30 PM
I always get rid of that shit if they have 'em....but mainly that was becoz I was a beginner and didn't know what they were for, :)
anthonycuskelly
1-Apr-2014
2:43:32 PM
I chop them out so I can flip the bottom biner if need be.

sbm
1-Apr-2014
2:45:31 PM
I consider quickdraws to be aid and now only clip bolts with single carabiners. Those present at Barrenjoey on Saturday may have witnessed this new kind of ethics I am developing.

sbm
1-Apr-2014
3:28:06 PM
Seriously though, don't you guys worry about your rope side biners rotating into a sideways cross loaded position? My CAMP draws have no rubber bit and used to do this really badly until I added rubber Petzl Strings.

Snappy
1-Apr-2014
4:00:02 PM
On 1/04/2014 anthonycuskelly wrote:
>I chop them out so I can flip the bottom biner if need be.

When would you want to do that? I flip the top biner on the rare occasion, but I can't think of a situation where I wold want to flip the bottom one...?
anthonycuskelly
1-Apr-2014
4:10:48 PM
Snappy, I find trad placements seem to end up with the bottom biner not sitting quite right.

Snappy
1-Apr-2014
4:18:49 PM
On 1/04/2014 anthonycuskelly wrote:
>Snappy, I find trad placements seem to end up with the bottom biner not
>sitting quite right.

Bottom biner sitting across the end of a crack or something like that?

E. Wells
1-Apr-2014