Chockstone Forum - Accidents & Injuries

Report Accidents and Injuries

Author
First time dislocation

Icarus
13-Jun-2009
11:04:12 PM
Hey guys,
playing around on TR today, I popped my shoulder out of place briefly, well, I think I did. It felt incredibly
weird, definitely what I would imagine a dislocation to be.
It didn't really hurt a whole bunch, but now, a few hours later, its a bit tender to move. Its not swelling any noticeable amount.
Any immediate action other than RICE?
How can I stop this from becoming a habit? Stronger muscles? Take up chess?

Dan.

Sabu
14-Jun-2009
12:22:54 AM
I think I've done this a few times, hasn't bothered me in a long while though.
I would rest it a little then ease back into things. Also work on getting more strength into
them. I guess just be careful with them and avoid really weird movements or
positions.

evanbb
14-Jun-2009
8:13:54 AM
Starting with all the usual caveats about medical advice and I'm not an expert, I am somewhat experienced in destroying shoulders.

If it felt like it was in a different position for a while; not just an in and out pop, then it sounds like a classic dislocation. Was your upper arm perpindicular to your side, and in line with your chest?