Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Accidents & Injuries

Report Accidents and Injuries

Author
stupid damn tendons!!
dougo
18-Sep-2007
9:13:55 PM
So, i've been climbing for nearly 2 years now (unfortunately mostly indoor) and during this time i have had to take nearly 7 months off from bloody tendon injuries and tendonitis.

It seems whenever i start to climb anywhere near my limits (around 21-22) my hands just completely fall apart. I've blown a tendon in the first knuckle of my middle finger (not sure about the technicalities - i can't afford a physio), had heaps of tendonitis in different knuckles and both my elbows. It's so damn frustrating, everytime i get back to this sort of level after taking time off everything just goes to shit. It's not even recurring injuries - it's something different everytime. Now i've got some weird tendon pain in between the first and second knuckle of my ring finger and i haven't even done anything particularly strenuous. It's not like i was doing some particular move and felt it pop. I was just climbing at my normal level and woke up the next day with this tendon pain. I love climbing, but i just can't handle this shit. It's so frustrating

Is it normal to spend this much time out from different injuries? Or are my tendons just weak as shit? Anyone else with tendons this determined to self destruct? Any solutions or advice? Anything is better than nothing -

muki
18-Sep-2007
10:27:58 PM
I think that the time (2yrs) + the fact that you are pushing your max limit, is a very definite give away
as to why you are suffering tendon problems, the tendons blood supply is much more limited than a
muscles.
And so they develope strength so much more slowly, the muscles literaly tear them from the anchor
points on the bone, or tear them in other ways, I try to recomend that climbers getting into this game
try and build a pyramid of grades under them, as it not only builds technique, but allows the tendons to