Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - Trip Reports

Tells Us About Your Latest Trip!

Author
Mt Buffalo: Noblesse Oblige Oct 2010.

IdratherbeclimbingM9
6-Oct-2010
12:00:38 PM
Mt Buffalo: ~ Yet another ascent of Noblesse Oblige ~ 03/10/10.

~> ... but more a trip report dealing with thought processes than climbing!

Note: N O is variously listed as Gd 11 and Gd 13 depending on the age of your guidebook, with the higher grade applying since it has been retro-bolted!

~> Hmm. Revision of an older climbers thoughts; ... a corollary to a PM I received recently where the sender stated;
>”most climbers I have come across are self taught, taught by mates or via things like Chockstone, there is such a mixed bag of skills, ideas and approaches, and the women I have climbed with bring a different (additional) bunch of issues such as lack of confidence in their abilities and physicality.”

~ ~ ~

Some friends from interstate visited us recently.

I asked my mate if he wanted to go for a climb again, as many years ago I had introduced him to climbing in an obscure location (Pine Rocks), near Orange in NSW, and he indicated that this would be a good thing.

Considering that this was effectively his second rock climb in about 15 years, I took it that he had remembered the basics, and although 10 to 20 m vertical routes of yesteryear did not equate to 300+ m of slabbing, I reckoned he would handle Noblesse Oblige OK, based on what I had previously seen.

When asked how long it would take by our better halves I answered “about four hours at a leisurely pace, so meet us at the top four and a half hours after we start, which gives us a margin to picnic along the way and enjoy the sojourn”. I thought this timing was pretty conservative since I have done the route a number of times with various ability partners in less time, and also had free-soloed it on my initial ascent of it in under two hours car to car which included the bush-bash to find it...