Chockstone Forum - General Discussion

General Climbing Discussion

Page 1 of 2. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 25
Author
Gym heroes
rolsen
30-Mar-2006
8:57:08 AM
We’ve sorted started trying to climb regularly at the gym (only third time), I’ve been climbing for 10 years outdoors but never got into the gym scene.

Last night we were climbing a route and this hero and his partner set up next to us and then when I lower down he (without a word) begins leading a route right where we are tied in. We were in a group of three and the other two hadn’t climbed the route yet. He didn’t ask if we were finished – obviously knowing we weren’t. He steps in from the right into our line and proceeds to so slowly dog his way up a climb (21) that travels the same space as the one we were on. He then sits on practically every bolt and we had to move rather than wait 10 minutes. We found another climb and climbed it while he was still dogging his way to glory.

The gym was half empty last night and there were lots of spare wall. It’s not something I would ever do or allow my partner(s) to do – his partner was to blame as well. If we realised what he was doing we would have said something but by then it was too late and why make a scene just because someone is a jerk.

Does he think he has more of a right to climb than us? Cause he's leading? Cause he has a membership?

Do these gym heroes get up your nose as well? Let’s ask them to leave their egos at home.

PS. I was going to shame him by describing him, his partner and his gear but I’ll let it go – this time. But if he tries it out again.....

Robb
30-Mar-2006
9:10:06 AM
A friend of mine owns a gym in anchorage, alaska and when climbers or staff get a bit too full of themselves they are asked to leave and their money refunded. Keeps the atmosphere friendly and low key.
R
stuart
30-Mar-2006
10:05:24 AM
Clearly you've got a lot to learn about climbing in the gym.

> Does he think he has more of a right to climb than us? Cause he's leading?