Chockstone Forum - General Discussion

General Climbing Discussion

Page 1 of 3. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 40 | 41 to 57
Author
Gym climbing difficult tonight

kerroxapithecus
7-Sep-2005
9:07:57 PM
I have a difficult time climbing at the gym tonight. I'm new to this and found the holds were more difficult than last time. Freaked out too and didn't want to go to the top when I couldn't get secure holds. I reckon it's because of all those posts about breaking ropes and ff whatever number falls. I came to this website to learn more about climbing. I was interested in assessing the dangers too. Too much information may not be good. Blissful ignorance was nice!

Anyway my friend and I really enjoy the gym climbing regardless of the fear but no way am I ready for the real rocks yet. I know you're all wiz-bang climbers so you'll think i'm a woos (don't know correct spelling for that one). Maybe a year in the gym and i'll think about venturing out to do the real thing

Any thoughts on how some of you guys started?

Sabu
7-Sep-2005
9:58:38 PM
im assuming you don't lead, so a fear should be easily overcome with a bit more experience and technique. you'll find that soon you will want to climb outdoors because you have a bit more confidence iin your ability. it's all about trusting the rope and yourself etc.
Outdoors is 10 times better than the gym, as a beginner you should hook up with a club (VCC or uni club) and subsequently you'll be taken on a trip and shown the basic ropes. best part about an organised trip is that the leader will do all the hard work while you just climb!! then after a lot of practice you can go learn how to lead and then venture out with another person and lead to your hearts content. But make sure you get someone experienced to teach you otherwise u'll end up with bad and dangerous habits.