Chockstone Photography
Australian Landscape Photography by Michael Boniwell
Australian Landscape Prints

Chockstone Forum - General Discussion

General Climbing Discussion

Topic Date User
Liquid Insanity 18-Apr-2018 At 10:35:45 PM One Day Hero
>One last thing I want to point out about why this spot is/was so meaningful
>to me for highlining is that......blah blah blah, me me me.......
>It’s a moot point now, but I just wanted to point out how significant
>Point Perp is for everyone.

Now you've gotten me a bit cranky, and that means it's time for one of those famous rants which everyone is so fond of.

I've been climbing at the Point for over twenty years, dozens of days a year (except for a couple of overseas and injury years). I've had many significant experiences at Point Perp in that time. There was one day in particular, back in 2007, when........oh wait, nobody wants to read about this, because it was significant to me, not you. You weren't there, you don't know the people involved, it's just some boring fuching shit that happened to somebody else.

In exactly the same way, your dawn-suicide-slackline-story is a big pile of meaningless nothing to everybody who wasn't there (which is just about everybody). Don't get me wrong, I'm sure it was a profound experience for you. But how the fuch does it have anything the fuch to do with bolting a fuching cliff?!?

Jesus christ! Years ago, some fuching numpty down in Victoria went abseiling on a famous cliff which you may have heard of. Sometime later, said numpty died in a car crash. What did his mates do? They bolted and glued a fuching half square metre plaque in his honour directly on top of "the best pitch in the world", cause he'd abseiled off it once! Are you fuching kidding me?!?!?!