Chockstone Forum - General Discussion

General Climbing Discussion

Page 1 of 3. Messages 1 to 20 | 21 to 40 | 41 to 59
Author
"New" tricks for old dogs
technogeekery
27-Jun-2016
2:41:42 PM
I learned to climb in the '80s, self taught from books and picking up hints from the crusties at the Mountain Club. Pretty safe, eventually, but very much a "leader must not fall" mindset. And some of those practises have hung on in my climbing to this date - lead on half ropes, indirect belays of the second from the harness, set belays with the rope, belaying with friction device rather than assisted locking.

But over the last few years I've been consciously trying new things, rejecting some, and adopting others. This weekend I did one I've been avoiding for years, and completely revise my rap techniques - and afterwards just thought - why didn't I do this years ago? Here are a few things I've changed and really like the "new" way - have you got any similar "new" tricks that have worked for you?

Rap - I've always used double fisherman's to join ropes on a long rap. Its bomber, I know its bomber, and I've used it for 30 years so I have not the slightest concern. But its bloody hard to undo, and it does jam sometimes - so I finally got around to trying the EDK (overhand tied with double ropes) on a triple-rap descent where getting the rope stuck would be a big issue. It looks terrifyingly simple / insufficient, and going over the edge for the first time was horrible - but I've read the studies and it really is bomber... so over-rode my reptile brain. It held. Interestingly, it did jam on one pull - took two of us heaving to break it loose - but of course that means nothing, I guess if that had been a double fisherman's it could have been irretrievable. But it is easy & quick to tie, to check, and to untie after being loaded, and I could also pull it through some big rings when I threaded the rap station the wrong way - so I'll keep using it.